Level of DWI Charges Lawyer

The negative effects of being charged with driving while intoxicated are numerous and serious. If you have been arrested for DWI, it is important for you to consult with an experienced, qualified Minnesota DWI lawyer. Seasoned Minnesota DWI attorney Kevin DeVore will work tirelessly on your behalf to ensure that we get you through the challenging maze which is the criminal justice system and to obtain for you the best result possible in your case.

There actually are four levels of DWI charges in the State of Minnesota. In order for you to best understand the workings of your case, we provide for your consideration an overview of the four levels of driving while intoxicated charges that exist in Minnesota:

Fourth Degree DWI

A Fourth Degree DWI is classified as a misdemeanor. This is the lower level DWI charge in the State of Minnesota. A person can be convicted of a Fourth Degree DWI in situations in which that individual has no other driving while impaired violation within ten years preceding the current charge. Additionally, an individual charged with this degree of DWI must have agreed to take field sobriety and Intoxilyzer tests. Finally, there must be no aggravating factors associated with the circumstances surrounding the arrest.

A person convicted of Fourth Degree DWI can face up to 90 days in jail and up to a $1,000 fine.

Third Degree DWI

A Third Degree DWI is considered to be a gross misdemeanor. This is a more serious form of misdemeanor, indeed the most serious misdemeanor for which a person can be charged. A person can be convicted of a Third Degree DWI in circumstances in which that individual has one other driving while impaired violation in the past ten years. A person can be charged with this degree of DWI if he or she refuses to undertake field sobriety and Intoxilyzer tests. Finally, a person can be charged with Third Degree DWI if one of the various aggravating factors is found to exist.

A person convicted of Third Degree DWI can face up to one year in jail and up to a $3,000 fine. Includes mandatory minimum penalties of jail and fines.

Second Degree DWI

A Second Degree DWI also is considered a gross misdemeanor. A person can be convicted of a Second Degree DWI in circumstances in which that individual has two other driving while impaired violation in the past ten years. In the alternative, a person can be charged with this degree of DWI if he or she refuses to take the field sobriety or Intoxilyzer test when charged in the current case and in one prior case during the past ten years. A person can be charged with Second Degree DWI if the individual refuses to take the tests mentioned a moment ago and if one of the various aggravating factors is found to exist. Finally, a person can be charged with Second Degree DWI if two aggravation factors exist.

 A person convicted of Second Degree DWI can face up to one year in jail and up to a $3,000 fine. Includes mandatory minimum penalties of jail and fines

First Degree DWI

A First Degree DWI is the most serious type of driving while intoxicated charge of all. A First Degree DWI is a felony. A person can be convicted of a First Degree DWI in circumstances in which that individual has had four driving while impaired violations within a ten year period. A person also can be charged and convicted of a First Degree DWI if he or she has been charged with a prior felony or First Degree DWI at any time in the past. Finally, a person can be charged and convicted of a First Degree DWI if that individual has a prior conviction for criminal vehicular operation. Aggravating factors are not taken into consideration in regard to a First Degree DWI case.

A person convicted of First Degree DWI can face up to seven years in prison and up to a $14,000 fine.

As you can see, the types of charges and the penalties that are involved in DWI cases are progressive. Therefore, even if this is your first time being charged with a DWI, even though you may believe that the penalties you face in such a case might not be too significant, you need to understand that if you are charged with driving while intoxicated again in the future, the penalties increase dramatically. Therefore, you need to make sure that you engage the professional services of an experienced and qualified DWI lawyer immediately.

Kevin DeVore: At Your Side Throughout Your DWI Case

Kevin DeVore is committed to assisting his clients through the complex maze that is the judicial system. Kevin will be at your side from the beginning to the end of your case. You will never be left wondering what is going on with your case … you will know what is happening with your case at all times and you will understand fully the intensive defense that our firm is mounting on your behalf.

If you are facing a driving while intoxicated, or any other type of criminal charge, you can speak immediately to Minnesota criminal defense attorney Kevin DeVore at (612) 836-9501. We will schedule a no-charge initial consultation for you immediately.